TCC Northeast PTK chapter wins regional, national awards

TCC Northeast’s Phi Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society received multiple awards at the PTK Catalyst Convention in Denver earlier this month.

Thousands of scholars worldwide are drawn to the PTK-hosted annual convention each spring to represent their chapters, institutions and regions.

The Phi Tau chapter’s campus advisor team — Victor Ballesteros, Lynda Davis, A’Isha Malone, Sara Reed, Humberto Rodriguez, Jeanell Buck, Samantha Elkins, Peter Martinez, Shewanda Riley and Janjura Williams — received the Distinguished Advisor Team Award on April 9. Three advisors and 10 student officers were able to attend the conference.

Biology major Megan Stiffler was formally recognized for being named a 2022 Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar. Stiffler, who plans to attend Texas Christian University this fall, will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Selection as a Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar was based on scores the student earned in the All-USA Academic Team competition, for which more than 2,000 applications were received this year. This program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation and is administered by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

On April 8, TCC Northeast President Kenya Ayers-Palmore was selected as a Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Paragon President award winner. This award recognizes new college presidents (less than three years) for their outstanding support of student success.

At the PTK regional conference in March, Ayers-Palmore was inducted into the Texas Hall of Honor for New Presidents. She was recognized for outstanding support of Phi Tau at TCC Northeast.

PTK is the world’s largest and most prestigious international honor society for two-year college students. The organization’s mission is to recognize academic achievement of college students and provide opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.