Leadership Award for TCC Dean

Janice Yoder Smith, recently retired dean of the Mathematics and Sciences Division at TCC Northwest, will be presented with the North Texas Community College Consortium’s annual Jesse Jones Leadership Award in a ceremony Sept. 16 at Dallas College’s Mountain View Campus.

In nominating Smith for the award, Interim Chancellor Elva LeBlanc cited Smith’s 34 years of service to TCC as professor and administrator. “She has motivated, supported and coordinated many campus and Collegewide teams all focused on student success,” LeBlanc wrote. LeBlanc went on to enumerate Smith’s many contributions to science education on local and national levels.

Among Smith’s many other honors was also her selection as a winner of TCC’s Chancellor’s Award for Exemplary Teaching.

Past recipients of the Jessie Jones Leadership Award include TCC Southeast President Bill Coppola (2015) and the Tarrant County College Eliminating Barriers to Student Success Team (2020).