TCC Jim Bolen Math competitors win more than $250,000 in scholarships and prizes

Tarrant County College student winners in the annual Jim Bolen Math Competition received more than $250,000 in scholarships and prizes. The recognition is based on results in a national competition sponsored by the American Mathematics Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC).

Top winners in the math competition who are 2020 TCC graduates earned scholarships from Tarleton State University, Texas Christian University, The University of Texas at Arlington and the University of Dallas.

The Jim Bolen Math Competition is named in honor of the late Jim Bolen, who chaired the TCC Northeast Mathematics Department and initiated TCC’s participation in AMATYC in 1989.  Former Fort Worth Mayor Bob Bolen and his wife, Fran, established the TCC Foundation Bolen Math Competition Fund, in honor of his brother, Jim, to provide monetary prizes to the top TCC student competitors.

TCC Southeast student Phat Nguyen received a full scholarship to Texas Christian University for two years totaling $155,000. The University of Dallas awarded a full two-year scholarship for $83,000 to TCC Northwest student Andrea Coppi.

TCC Southeast student Killian Edwards received a $3,000 scholarship per year to Tarleton State University. Receiving $1,500 each per year to The University of Arlington were TCC Southeast students Huy Phan and Michael Solek.

Virtual recognition ceremonies have been scheduled for Monday with TCU at 11 a.m., UD at 11:30 a.m. and UT Arlington at 1:30 p.m. The Tarleton ceremony was pending at press time.

TCC’s top 10 Highest Overall Scorers were awarded the following prizes: TCC Southeast student Ethan Harrah, $1,000; TCC Northwest student Joshua Feldman, $750; TCC Northwest student Kyle Duke, $500; TCC Southeast student Michael Solek, $400; TCC Northwest student Cameron James, $325; TCC Southeast student Khan Vy Nguyen, $325; TCC Southeast student Huy Phan, $225; TCC Trinity River student Kim Ngan, $225; TCC Northeast student Shan He, $125 and TCC Southeast student Killian Edwards, $125.

Campus winners, receiving $100 each, were:

Northeast: Nathaniel Lane, Curtis Owen and Alexander Maloney
Northwest: Joshua Feldman and James Cameron
South: Quinten Nguyen and Joshua Collins
Southeast: Trinh Thao and My Nguyen
Trinity River: Kim Tu

With only the first-round reporting in the AMATYC competition completed because of delays caused by COVID-19 closings, TCC is ranked first in the four-state Southwest Region, comprised of Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico and Arizona, and 30th in the nation.

For more information about the Bolen Math Competition, contact Cathryn Miller at or visit the AMATYC website. More information about the TCC Foundation is available at or 817-515-5277.