TCC Nabs Top Two Honors

TR EntryHip hip hurray! Hip hip hurray!

Double cheers as TCC Trinity River Campus designers took first place and Northeast Campus sculptors won second place for their creative sculptures chiseled from 8 feet x 12 feet pieces of Styrofoam in the Trinity River Vision Art Competition.

Although still basking  in the thrill of their recent triumph,  it’s already time for you to dash into action to help them win again.

Continuing until the end of Mayfest, you – THE PEOPLE – may cast votes for your favorite entry. Simply dial 2233 and text either TCCNE or TCCTR to make your TCC choice known. The People’s Choice Award will be announced by Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price Saturday, May 5, at 6 p.m. at the Trinity River Park Riverfront Stage, home to the  sculptures after Main Street Art Festival  ends.

The Trinity River Team’s desire to connect with the community “because we know we’re all partners in it together” is what inspired the winning team to create LUCKY, a rubber ducky floating in an inner tube in tribute to the Mayfest rubber ducky races.

“The  vision authority is revitalizing the Trinity and trying to do all these things with the river. We thought what better thing could we make that could connect with those different aspects,” said Trinity River team member Brandon Tucker.  “So floating down the river at Mayfest you have little rubber ducky races.  It just goes along with the community feeling.  A child all the way up to an adult can understand and appreciate the piece.”

The first place winners received $1,250 and second place garnered $1,000. The team from The University of Texas at Arlington placed third place, earning $750.

Tucker is joined on the winning team  by fellow Design 2 students Dianna Bolding, Kaylyn Gustafson-Resendes,  Justin McCarty, David Vest and Elaine Weaver. Associate Art Professor Angel Fernandez was the team facilitator.

Creators of the Northeast sculpture were Gregory Arth, Dewayne Clark, Emily Davis, Sheena Garden, Jennifer Hammack, Lina Mino, Elvia Rivas, Salvador Rios, Nikkita Roderson, and Sheldrea Streete. The facilitator was instructor Charles Coldewey.

Don’t forget to dial 22333 and text either TCCNE or TCCTR to support your favorite!

Editor’s Note: Text number was corrected to 22333 on 4-23-12.

Team Lucky
Click here to see video and hear comments from the first place team.

View more photos of the April 19 contest announcement ceremony.






TR Team
Trinity River Campus Team LUCKY
 NE Team
Northeast Campus Team