Southeast Float Wins Again in Arlington Parade

The creative efforts of Southeast Campus volunteers paid off again this year when their Fourth of July float won the award of “First Place Non Commercial Floats.” Southeast has participated in the parade each year since the campus opened 15 years ago and has won parade honors numerous times.

In recognition of the 2010 theme of “Yesterday, Today and Forever,” the float showcased three educational scenes.  Yesterday was represented by a one-room school house, today was identified with a chalkboard and forever was saluted by images of technology.

Parade participants who also helped build the float are employees Christopher Blay, Ruben Najera, Devon Nowlin (former), Doug Peak, James Rogers and students Katherine Szrot, Tam Vo.

Other parade participants were SE President Judith Carrier along with other administrators, faculty and staff Patricia Clough, Jerry Coats, Karen DeSimone, Rusty Fox, Ernest Gines, Bernie Skrehart and Amy Staley.  Students who participated in the parade included Erin Crouch, Danielle Gines, Elizabeth Gines,  Hoa Quach, Tran Quach, Hizamar Ramirez.  Volunteer Marisa Gines also was on hand.

Check out float photos and the winning trophy in the Galleries.