TCC Chancellor Appoints New Northwest Campus President

Zarina Blankenbaker Executive headshot session taken at SPP Studios on January 7, 2017

FORT WORTH, Texas (April 25, 2017) – Tarrant County College Chancellor Eugene V. Giovannini has named Zarina Blankenbaker president of the TCC Northwest Campus. Blankenbaker will assume her leadership role June 1.
An accomplished leader in higher education, Blankenbaker has devoted more than 23 years to innovative leadership and learning excellence as a faculty member, advisor, financial counselor and administrator. She most recently served as the executive vice president of academic affairs and student success at Richland College in Dallas, providing leadership for more than 20,000 students.
“Dr. Blankenbaker brings extensive experience in higher education, strategic planning, accreditation and resource development to Tarrant County College,” Giovannini said. “I feel confident that she will continue to enhance TCC’s reputation for academic excellence and ensure that we are a student-ready college able to meet our students where they are and help get them where they want to be.”
While at Richland College, Blankenbaker led initiatives contributing to a positive five-year trend for in-course retention, student, success and increase in associate degrees and certificates awarded. She also led partnership efforts that contributed to an increase in dual credit enrollment.
In 2008, Blankenbaker was named the Administrator of the Year by Richland College. She was nominated for the Excellence in Teaching Award in 2002 and received the Innovator of the Year Award in 1999. TexTESOL also recognized Blankenbaker’s leadership contributions by naming her the 2008 TexTESOLer of the Year.
Blankenbaker earned a bachelor’s degree in Secondary Education from Indiana University, a master’s degree in Applied Linguistics and a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of North Texas. Blankenbaker will replace Elva LeBlanc, who was named the District’s first Executive Vice Chancellor & Provost.